cidb Standards

cidb Standards

Contractor Standards

Contractor standards assist in professionalising the local construction industry, creating performance measures to which all stakeholders can align for development and transformation purposes. Centred around key areas such as skills, competence, health, safety, ethics and enterprise sustainability, these standards ensure that global expectations are not only met, but exceeded.

B.U.I.L.D Programme Standards

B.U.I.L.D Programme Standards are targeted at large construction projects, guiding development and transformation, by focusing initiatives on priority needs. 

In September 2020, the B.U.I.L.D Programme was enacted, making two priority standards applicable to all construction projects of R60m and above. Contractors must implement the two standards on relevant projects, funded by clients. These are the Standard for Indirect Targeting for Enterprise Development and Standard for Developing Skills.

Standard for Indirect Targeting for Enterprise Development

All projects of R60m and above must apply the Standard for Indirect Targeting for Enterprise Development. The standard enables clients to add the development of smaller contractors, using subcontracting and joint ventures to the scope of work to be delivered by a contractor on relevant projects.

Standard for Skills Development

The Standard for Skills Development enables clients to add the provision of experiential learning for TVET college and university graduates to the scope of work a contractor must fulfil on projects of R60m and above. 

Standards linked to the Register of Contractors

The cidb Competence Standard supports contractors in building their enterprise capacity to operate sustainably in the delivery of projects, focusing on skills for business management and for supervising building and construction. In future, the cidb Competence Standard will become a criteria for registration on the Register of Contractors. Contractors will be supported to meet the standard before it becomes a registration criteria.

Standards recommended for contractors to adopt as good practice

  • BS 10500 Specification for an Anti Bribery Management System (ABMS). Thisstandard is recommended for Grade 9 contractors.
  • Certification to SANS ISO 9001 Quality Management System, SANS ISO 14001 Environmental Management Systems and SANS OHSAS 18001 Occupational Health and Safety Management System; or b) certification to SANS 1393 Construction Management System. These standards are recommended for cidb Grades 5 – 9.